Sibel Ataogul
Lawyer

A graduate from the Université de Montréal and member of the Barreau du Québec since 2004, Sibel practices in labour law and human rights, in both collective labour relations and individual employment agreements.

A partner at the firm, she works in all of the different facets of labour law, including certification, grievance arbitration, judicial review and occupational health and safety. She has developed expertise particularly in the area of constitutional challenges to regulatory and legislative provisions. She has successfully argued that provisions in the Labour Code, the Highway Safety Code and a by-law in the City of Montreal be invalidated for violating freedoms of association and expression. Sibel also represents class action litigants.

Sibel regularly represents clients before civil and administrative tribunals and acted as one of the lawyers for Gabriel Nadeau-Dubois in his case before the Supreme Court of Canada.

In addition to her practice, she has taught collective labour relations at the École des relations industrielles at the Université de Montréal. Sibel is also one of the co-founders of the Association des juristes progressistes (AJP).

Sibel is trilingual, speaking French, English and Turkish.


Email
sataogul@mmgs.qc.ca
Phone
514-525-3414 (ext. 330)
Fax
514-525-2803
Legal assistant
Cynthia Bélanger

Sibel Ataogul
Avocate

Diplômée de l’Université de Montréal et membre du Barreau depuis 2004, Sibel œuvre à notre bureau en droit du travail et en droits et libertés, autant dans le domaine des rapports collectifs qu’en droit individuel.

Associée du cabinet, elle œuvre dans tous les domaines du droit du travail, dont notamment les accréditations, arbitrages de grief et de différends, contrôles judiciaires et les litiges en matière de santé et sécurité du travail. Elle a acquis une expertise particulière dans des dossiers de contestation constitutionnelle des dispositions législatives et réglementaires.  Elle a en effet fait invalider des dispositions le Code du travail, le Code de la sécurité routière et un règlement de la Ville de Montréal sur la base de violations de la liberté d’association et d’expression.  Sibel fait également des dossiers d’action collective.

Sibel plaide régulièrement devant les tribunaux civils et administratifs et fut l’une des avocates de Monsieur Gabriel Nadeau-Dubois dans sa cause à la Cour suprême du Canada.

Parallèlement à sa pratique, elle a enseigné le droit des rapports collectifs de travail à l’École des relations industrielles de l’Université de Montréal ainsi qu’à la Faculté de science politique et de droit à l’Université du Québec à Montréal.  Sibel est également co-fondatrice de l’Association des juristes progressistes.

Sibel est trilingue (français, anglais et turc).


Courriel
sataogul@mmgs.qc.ca
Téléphone
514-525-3414 (poste 330)
Télécopieur
514-525-2803
Adjoint(e) juridique
Cynthia Bélanger