Marie-Claude St-Amant
Lawyer

Marie-Claude has been a member of the Barreau du Québec since 2006 after completing her Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) at Université Laval.

A partner at the firm, she practices labour law, both in collective and individual labour relations, and is particularly interested in cases involving grievance arbitration, certification, orders and injunctions related to labour disputes, workplace discrimination and human rights, occupational diseases and legal issues affecting the arts community.

She has developed an expertise in constitutional challenges of regulatory and legislative provisions. She has successfully argued that provisions in the Labour Code, the Highway Safety Code and a by-law in the City of Montreal be invalidated for violating freedoms of association and expression. Marie-Claude has also developed an expertise in administrative law, class action lawsuits and animal rights.

Marie-Claude is a founding member of the Association des juristes progressistes (AJP) and is a member of a number of different committees, including the Animal Rights Committee.
As part of her practice, Marie-Claude regularly represents clients before the different administrative tribunals, the Superior Court and the Court of Appeal, drafts legal opinions and gives training on a variety of topics.

Marie-Claude practices in both French and English.


Email
mcstamant@mmgs.qc.ca
Phone
514-525-3414 (ext. 316)
Fax
514-525-2803
Legal assistant
Cynthia Bélanger

Marie-Claude St-Amant
Avocate

Marie-Claude est membre du Barreau depuis 2006 après avoir fait son baccalauréat en droit à l’Université Laval.

Associée du cabinet, elle exerce particulièrement en droit du travail, tant sur le plan collectif que sur le plan individuel, et s’intéresse particulièrement aux questions touchant l’arbitrage de griefs, le processus d’accréditation, les ordonnances ou les injonctions en matière de conflit de travail, la discrimination et les droits de la personne en milieu de travail, les lésions professionnelles et le droit des artistes.

Elle a acquis une expertise particulière dans des dossiers de contestation constitutionnelle des dispositions législatives et réglementaires.  Elle a en effet fait invalider des dispositions le Code du travail, le Code de la sécurité routière et un règlement de la Ville de Montréal sur la base de violations de la liberté d’association et d’expression. Marie-Claude a aussi développé une expertise en droit administratif, en actions collectives ainsi qu’en droit animal.

Marie-Claude est membre fondatrice de l’Association des juristes progressistes (AJP) et siège sur différents comités de l’AJP, notamment le comité Droit animal.

Dans le cadre de son travail, Marie-Claude est appelée régulièrement à faire des représentations devant les différents tribunaux administratifs, la Cour supérieure et la Cour d’appel, à rédiger des opinions juridiques et à dispenser des formations.

Marie-Claude pratique en français et en anglais.


Courriel
mcstamant@mmgs.qc.ca
Téléphone
514-525-3414 (poste 316)
Télécopieur
514-525-2803
Adjoint(e) juridique
Cynthia Bélanger