Giuseppe Sciortino
Lawyer

Called to the bar in 1975, Giuseppe speaks several languages. At the beginning of his career, he worked with Bernard Mergler, a lawyer known as one of the forerunners of civil, political, social and economic rights.

Before the primary focus of his practice became labour law, he worked in criminal and immigration law, representing refugees from the four corners of the world.
Founding partner of the firm, he has devoted most of his practice to certification, negotiation, arbitration and complaints heard by the Canada Industrial Relations Board and the Administrative Labour Tribunal.

Giuseppe has worked in administrative law, judicial review, injunctions, contempt of court, and civil liability involving unions and social, political and cultural associations. He has represented clients before most tribunals, both in Quebec and federally. He has also represented parties before UN Committees. In labour law, he has extensive experience in industrial, public and communications fields.

He also represented Victor Brito Regalado, a Salvadorian journalist, and represented a number of student unions during the 2012 student demonstrations, including Gabriel Nadeau-Dubois, whom he represented before the Supreme Court of Canada.

He has acted as legal advisor since January 2017.


Email
gsciortino@mmgs.qc.ca
Phone
514-525-3414 (ext. 333)
Legal assistant
Mélissa Parisi

Giuseppe Sciortino
Avocat

Admis au Barreau en 1975, Giuseppe parle plusieurs langues. Au début de sa pratique, il a œuvré avec Me Bernard Mergler, avocat reconnu comme un des précurseurs de la défense des droits civils, politiques, sociaux et économiques.

Avant de se consacrer principalement au droit du travail, il a œuvré en droit pénal et de l’immigration, la représentation de réfugiés venant des pays américains, africains, européens et asiatiques.

Membre fondateur du cabinet, il a consacré une bonne partie de sa pratique aux accréditations, négociations, arbitrages, plaintes devant le Conseil canadien des relations industrielles et la Commission des relations du travail du Québec.

Giuseppe a œuvré aussi en droit administratif, en révision judiciaire, injonction, outrage au tribunal, action en dommages impliquant des associations syndicales, sociales, politiques et culturelles. Il a plaidé devant la plupart des tribunaux québécois et fédéraux. Il a déjà représenté des personnes devant les Comités des Nations Unies. En droit du travail, il a une solide expérience du secteur industriel, du secteur public et des communications.

De plus, il a agi pour Victor Brito Regalado, journaliste salvadorien, il a représenté diverses associations étudiantes pendant la grève de 2012 ainsi que monsieur Gabriel Nadeau-Dubois, qu’il a défendu jusqu’en Cour suprême.

Depuis janvier 2017,  il agit comme avocat-conseil.


Courriel
gsciortino@mmgs.qc.ca
Téléphone
514-525-3414 (poste 333)
Adjoint(e) juridique
Mélissa Parisi